March 8, 1900: The NL votes to reduce its membership from 12 teams to 8, dropping Baltimore, Cleveland, Louisville, and Washington. The Reds lost two geographic rivals in Cleveland and Louisville. The NL roster of Boston, Brooklyn, Chicago, Cincinnati, NY, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and St. Louis remained unchanged until the Boston Braves moved to Milwaukee in March 1953.

All “Reds trivia” posts come from Greg Rhodes and John Snyder’s fabulous book, “Redleg Journal” (see link for purchasing) and are used with Greg’s permission.

Thanks again to Greg Rhodes for permission to use his material.

About The Author

I've been a Reds fan since the late '60's, with my luck of being able to attend plenty of games at Riverfront during the BRM era. I was sitting in the Green Seats in the OF when Pete came home in '84 and was in the Red seats when Glenn Braggs reached over the fence in '90 to beat the Pirates. I have had many favorites from Jim Maloney to Johnny Bench, Barry Larkin, Adam Dunn, and Jay Bruce.

Related Posts