Reds shortstop Felipe Lopez has been named the winner of the NL SS Silver Slugger award. The honors keep rolling in….

2 Responses

  1. Tom

    The bigger story here, from a Reds perspective, is why in the hell did they chose Carlos Lee for this award ahead of Ken Griffey or Adam Dunn? Lee rode a big RBI number, 114, to the award. His pedestrian .811 OPS ranked him 18th among NL OFs who qualified for the batting championship. Griffey and Dunn ranked 3rd and 5th in OPS, both ranking ahead of Andrew Jones, who placed 6th on the list. Jason Bay, who topped the list, and Lance Berkman, were both jobbed big time also. The list follows:

    1 Jason Bay Pit .961
    2 Miguel Cabrera Fla .947
    3 Ken Griffey Jr. Cin .946
    4 Lance Berkman Hou .934
    5 Adam Dunn Cin .927
    6 Andruw Jones Atl .922
    7 Jim Edmonds StL .918
    8 Brian Giles SD .905
    9 Pat Burrell Phi .892
    10 Geoff Jenkins Mil .888
    11 Bobby Abreu Phi .879
    12 Matt Holliday Col .866
    13 Cliff Floyd NYM .863
    14 Shawn Green Ari .832
    15 Luis Gonzalez Ari .825
    16 Jose Guillen Was .817
    17 Jason Lane Hou .815
    18 Carlos Lee Mil .811


  2. Joel

    Bay has settled right into the Brian Giles mode of great player in a small market that nobody hears about. He should’ve been an obvious choice for silver slugger over Carlos Lee. I can see why Andruw Jones got it with all of the home runs and publicity and such. And besides 6th in OPS isn’t bad, but Lee winning it over Bay just shows that the voters still have much to learn about identifying productive hitters.