Here’s an interesting list from about the various ground rules from every Major League ballpark. Here’s an example from Great American Ballpark:


Fair ball lodging in fence padding or chain link bullpen “windows”: Two Bases.

This gives me an opportunity to discuss something that I find interesting. When someone hits a ball that bounces into the stands, the announcer or scoreboard will invariably advise everyone that the batter hit a “ground-rule double.”

Well, no, that’s not true, actually. He hit a double, perhaps it could be called a “rule double,” but that situation certainly isn’t a ground-rule double. That’s because the situation is actually listed in the MLB rulebook as a double. It doesn’t have anything to do with the “ground rules.”

Just an issue of semantics, I guess, but it’s something a lot of people may not know.

About The Author

Blame Chad for creating this mess. Chad launched Redleg Nation in February 2005, and has been writing about the Reds ever since. His first book, "The Big 50: The Men and Moments That Made the Cincinnati Reds" is now available in bookstores and online, at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and wherever fine books are sold. You can also find Chad's musings about the Cincinnati Reds in the pages of Cincinnati Magazine. You can email Chad at

Related Posts

2 Responses

  1. Chris Eling

    Jon Miller, ESPN broadcaster, makes a point of avoiding the term “ground-rule double” on a bounce-into-the-stands hit due to the fact that it has nothing to do with ground rules. I think he calls it an “automatic double.”

  2. Brian Erts

    Back during the deadball era some parks allowed HR’s on 1 hoppers into the stands. At Redland in the late 20’s there was a pole set on the foul line somewhere between the wall and 1st base. If a ball cleared that poles position in the air it was a HR.

    Redland was a pure #B park and a park where HR’s went to die… lots of @B’s too.